Our State Government: Three Branches Or A Seven-Headed Hydra?

The Connecticut Constitution, like the federal constitution, divides government into three branches.  I love the language of  Article Second of the state constitution:

The powers of government shall be divided into three distinct departments, and each of them confined to a separate magistracy, to wit, those which are legislative, to one; those which are executive, to another; and those which are judicial, to another.

It couldn’t be simpler, right?  Three branches or departments: executive, legislative and judicial.  Period. End of story. Read the rest of this entry »